Get Involved


Jerry J. Petrowski

State Senator - 29th Senate District


64; Married to wife Ellen for over 40 years; has 4 children and 3 grandchildren. Lifelong Resident of the 29th Senate District.


Graduate, Newman High School; Attended Northcentral Technical College and UW-Marathon County.


Over 30 years of experience as a small business owner/ginseng, dairy and beef farmer.

9 years as a Machinist at Marathon Electric; member of the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers Local #1791.

6 Years in the U.S. Army Reserves (the 213th S&S Battalion).

Elected to the State Senate in 2012; Previously served in the State Assembly from 1999-2012.

Senator Petrowski currently serves as the Chairman of the Senate Transportation, Public Safety and Veterans and Military Affairs Committee, Vice Chair of the Senate Economic Development and Local Government Committee, and is a voting member of other committees including the Senate Agriculture, Small Business, and Tourism Committee, the Senate Financial Institutions and Rural Issues Committee, and the Joint Legislative Council.  He also serves on the Governor’s Council on Highway Safety, Transportation Projects Commission, Rustic Roads Board, Scenic Byway Advisory Committee, Council on Military and State Relations, the State Council on Interstate Compact on Educational Opportunity for Military Children and the UW-Stevens Point College of Natural Resources Advisory Board. 


Memberships include: Farm Bureau, Marathon Lions, Friends of Rib Mountain, Wausau Elks, Wisconsin Rifle and Pistol Association, National Rifle Association (NRA), St. Mary’s Church, Republican Parties of Marathon, Lincoln, Portage, Shawano, Price, Rusk, Taylor, Sawyer and Wood Counties, and the Seventh Congressional District Republican Party.


Current Awards/Endorsements: 

**More to be named** 


Award - WURTA - website SMALL.jpgAward - Electric Co-ops - website SMALL.jpgWCA Award 2014 - website SMALL.jpgAg award - website SMALL.jpgAward - Tavern League - website SMALL.jpg


American Heart Association - Legislator of the Year

End Domestic Abuse Wisconsin - Legislative Leader Award

Wisconsin VFW  - Legislator of the Year 

Wisconsin American Legion - Legislator of the Year 

Center for Driver's License Recovery & Employability - Legislative Champion Award for being a champion of low-income Wisconsin drivers

Wisconsin Farm Bureau -Volunteers for Agriculture - ENDORSE SENATOR JERRY PETROWSKI



National Federation of Independent Businesses (NFIB) - ENDORSE SENATOR JERRY PETROWSKI

Wisconsin Counties Association - Outstanding Legislator Award 

Wisconsin Towns Association - Friend of Wisconsin Towns Award

Wisconsin Troopers' Association - Senator of the Year; ENDORSE SENATOR JERRY PETROWSKI

Wisconsin Professional Police Association - Legislator of the Year; ENDORSE SENATOR JERRY PETROWSKI

Wisconsin Restaurant Association - ENDORSE SENATOR JERRY PETROWSKI

Wisconsin Grocers Association - Friend of the Grocers Award; ENDORSE SENATOR JERRY PETROWSKI

National Rifle Association (NRA) - ENDORSE SENATOR JERRY PETROWSKI (A Rating)

Wisconsin Urban and Rural Transit Association - Legislative Statesman of the Year 

Associated Builders and Contractors of Wisconsin - Building Wisconsin Award

Wisconsin Builders Association - Friend of Housing Award   

Wisconsin's Electric Cooperatives Association - Enlightened Legislator of the Year Award

Wisconsin Bear Hunters Association - Hero Award

Wisconsin Academy of Family Physicians - Friend of Family Medicine Award

State Bar of Wisconsin - Scales of Justice Award

Wisconsin Council on Physical Disabilities - Appreciation for his Leadership and Contribution to improve access to handicap parking for people with disabilities

Wisconsin Dental Association - Champion Award

Tavern League of Wisconsin - Appreciation Award; ENDORSE SENATOR JERRY PETROWSKI

Chiropractic Society of Wisconsin - Legislator of the Year Award

The American Conservative Union - Defender of Liberty Award

Wisconsin Manufacturers and Commerce - Working for Wisconsin Award

Metropolitan Milwaukee Association of Commerce - Champion of Commerce Award



VFW Legislator of the Year Award - website small.jpg2014 American Legion Award -Ken Rynes - website.jpg2014 American Legion Award - website.jpg

Additional Past Awards:

3M - Award of Appreciation

Farm Bureau -  Friend of Agriculture Award 

Northcentral Technical College - Award for his Commitment & Dedication to Create Opportunity

Wisconsin Builders Association - Friend of Housing Award

Wisconsin Towns Association - Friend of Wisconsin Towns Award

Wisconsin Dental Association - Award of Honor for his work at the Mission of Mercy

Wisconsin Paper Council - Champion of Paper Award

Wisconsin Manufacturers and Commerce - Working for Wisconsin Award

UW- Stevens Point Paper Science Foundation - Friends of the Foundation Award

American Academy of Pediatrics - Childhood Legislative Advocate of the Year

State Farm Insurance - Golden Car Seat Award for his work to improve child passenger safety

Wisconsin Grocers Association - Friend of the Grocers Award

Department of Veterans Affairs - Certificate of Commendation

Wisconsin Vietnam Veterans - Legislator of the Year

Wisconsin Troopers Association - Legislator of the Year Award 

Wisconsin County Police Association - Legislative Merritt Award for his efforts in support of WI’s men and women of law enforcement

Allied Health Chiropractic Center's - Commitment & Dedication to the Chiropractic Profession

Wisconsin Bear Hunters Association - Hero Award

Wisconsin Ginseng Board - Award for Assistance to the Wisconsin Ginseng Industry